A password-protected directory or area is a folder that may be accessed when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals could check out its content. This function may be used for the primary folder of a specific website or exclusively for a specific subfolder based upon your needs. As an example, when you are creating a new website and you do not want people to see it prior to it being 100% ready, you should prohibit the access to it entirely, while if you need only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you could password-protect only a particular folder, while the other parts of the site may be seen by anybody. In any case, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear when the login details the visitor types in are not right. Even a direct link to a file shall not work provided any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Website Hosting
Setting up a password-protected area shall take just a couple of clicks and a few seconds when you host your sites within a website hosting account with our company. You won't have to do anything complicated - you'll have to select a domain/subdomain, to pick which folder under it should be protected, and then to input the login name and password that'll be used to access that folder. If a number of individuals need their own login details, there will not be a problem to create numerous different usernames with access to the same folder. All secured folders will appear with a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you shall always know where this option is enabled. If you would like to disable the security function for any folder, you can deactivate it from the same exact section of the Control Panel in which you have enabled it.